Your Wish is My Command – Lakeside

by Richard Cole

Your Wish is My Command

Date of Release: 1982

Recording date: 1981

Recording Studio: Kendun Recorders, Burbank, CA

Lakeside

The Sound of Los Angeles Records. SOLAR Records was my Motown during the early ‘80’s. SOLAR had their Temptations style group, The Whispers who were actually contemporaries of the Tempts, but with the production stylings of Leon Sylvers III, they were finally getting their shine with ‘And the Beat Goes On’. There was Dynasty and Shalamar, vocal groups with danceable bass driven grooves and romantic ballads. I was in high school at just the right time. The Sound of Los Angeles Records was my earliest songwriting influence. The various composers were absolute craftpersons and I’ve always wanted to write just as good as those tunes I was slowly adding to my record collection.

Also during this time (1980-1982) I was deep into funk. Parliament/Funkadelic, Rick James, Prince, Zapp, and The Gap Band collectively eclipsed my Jacksons and Beatles vinyl, so imagine my delight that SOLAR had a funk band on their label as well.

I heard Lakeside’s “All the Way Live” in the late ‘70’s and for no real reason didn’t gravitate to it the way other kids did. I liked the hook on the strength of kids just randomly singing it in the halls. It’s a barometer of how hip a song is by virtue of random recall. It really wasn’t until 1981 when I jumped on the Lakeside bandwagon or I should say jumped on ship.

The Fantastic Voyage album

“Fantastic Voyage” had been getting a lot of radio play during the early part of 1981. It was enough to convince me to enjoy it, but it was later in 1981 somewhere during my introduction to The music of Prince and Teena Marie that Lakeside’s “You’re Love is on the One” entered my musical orbit. That song and the ballad “Say Yes” (a staple of many school dances. More on that on the Fantastic Voyage post later) which led me to buy the “Fantastic Voyage” album.

Side One

1. “Your Wish is My Command” (F. Alexander, Jr., N. Beavers, M. Craig, F. Lewis, T. McCain, S. Shockley, T. Shelby, O. Stokes, M. Wood, Jr.) 6:01

2. “Something About That Woman” (S. Shockley) 5:07

3. “I Want to Hold Your Hans” (J. Lennon, P. McCartney) 4:27

4. “Special” (O. Stokes) 5:07

Your Wish is My Command

The title track is a very strong opener. Where Fantastic Voyage is pure funk, “Your Wish is My Command” is sophisticated funk. The drums and bass groove, but the bass is more melodic here. My favorite are the background harmonies. Lakeside has the vocal chops worthy of a Temptations or Whispers and the musicianship as a self contained band to match. Both compliment the song well.

Something About That Woman

This is a sort of son of “Your Love is on the One” from Fantastic Voyage, but I love it as a track. While all of Lakeside are craftsman songwriters, Stephen Shockley’s contributions I’ve come to look forward to. He is the composer of both songs mentioned here. The rhythm guitar riffs are similar and were influential on me.

I Want to Hold Your Hand

A soulful tribute to John Lennon as this was released a year after his murder. Ironically John discussed reworking this song and “Help” making them more soulful. I’m not sure if Lakeside was aware of this when recording this track, but the results are magnificent with Mark Wood, Jr. and Otis Stokes tag teaming on the vocals.

Special

A nice slice of funk to close out side one. For a long time this was my favorite album track. The drums and synths really drive this cut. I especially love the breakdown where they spell out the title explaining the ways the girl is special.

Side Two

1. “Magic Moments” (F. Alexander, Jr., N. Beavers, M. Craig, F. Lewis, T. McCain, S. Shockley, T. Shelby, O. Stokes, M. Wood, Jr.) 5:50

2. “The Urban Man” (N. Beavers, M. Wood, Jr.) 4:25

3. “I’ll Be Standing By” ( N. Beavers, M. Wood, Jr.) 4:33

4. “The Songwriter” (T. McCain) 4:30

Magic Moments

I loved side one so much that I barely played side two for a long time, but when I finally started to play it, I discovered some hidden gems of great craftsmanship in songwriting. Side Two opens with Magic Moments. It’s a balancing act of driving funk and sophisticated melody. It’s not too much of either. It’s a song that belongs in spring or summer. It really makes you appreciate having someone to sip ‘Dom Perignon and kissing their sweet lips’ or if you don’t you sure want to find someone.

Owning original pressings of the album you’ll notice something strange on the back of the album cover and the inner sleeve. You’ll notice the song sequence doesn’t match what’s actually on the album and its label. It was driving me crazy not knowing what was under the sticker. Obviously there were songs intended for the album, but changed at the last minute. Apparently the original title of ‘Magic Moments’ was ‘Big City Life’ which you hear as part of the hook. Magic Moments stands out more in the song so it was a great choice to make the last minute change. It also looks like ‘Special’ replaces an Otis Stokes composition titled ‘Got to Keep On’. I’m curious as to why and also what it sounds like. Otis Stokes contributions to Lakeside are significant. Seek out “I Need You’ from ‘Fantastic Voyage’ and ‘Real Love’ from ‘Untouchables’. I would love to know the story on why they swapped out the songs at the last minute.

The album’s inner sleeve. As you can see, I really needed to see what was under that ssticker.

The Urban Man

This is probably my least favorite song in the album. Not because it’s a bad song. It’s pretty good, but up against the previous tracks, it pales. It doesn’t distract from the overall experience if you’re listening to the album from beginning to end.

I’ll Be Standing By

This the best ballad on the album. There are few self contained bands that can pull off ballads not named Earth, Wind & Fire and The Commodores. Lakeside stands up with those bands by keeping the smoothness balanced with Philly sound and early Soul influences. This is a song I enjoy more and more with each listen. While there are stronger slow songs in the Lakeside legend, I urge you to add this to your deep dive into their ballads.

The Songwriter

Lakeside is unique because the whole band were strong, gifted songwriters. They write as either a collective, solo or any given combination of two or three members. ‘The Songwriter’ is Tiemeyer McCain’a solo contribution to the album. It’s nice follow up to the previous track and a nice closer to the album. I wonder if the inspiration was Earth, Wind & Fire’s ‘I’ll Write a Song for You’.

Why it’s in the Crate?

1982 is one of my favorite years musically. There were so many great R&B and Funk albums and singles that year and the whole SOLAR Records stable of stars were hanging in he top ten with the best of them. It was the closest I could imagine what Motown meant to kids in the 60’s. “Your Wish is My Command” is my favorite Lakeside album. I bought this within the same time frame I got “Friends” by Shalamar and “Love is Where You Find It” by The Whispers, both my favorite albums by each group. It was SOLAR’s peak period and one I’m glad I got to experience in real time.

Published by What’s in the Crate?

Richard Cole: Artist, Musician, Photographer, Host of Amari Purple Talk. Music listening enthusiast. www.amaricommunications.com Twitter: @RichardCole_NOW Instagram: @richardcole_amari Bandcamp: https://eichardcole.bandcamp.com

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started